The staff at Vermont Legal Aid brings impressive credentials and experience together with a deep commitment to making a difference in the lives of our clients to create a powerful force for justice in Vermont.


Eric Avildsen, Executive Director

Devon Ayers, Testing Coordinator

Rachel Batterson, HDLP Director

Emily Bens, Health Care Advocate

Michael Benvenuto, ELP Director

Sherrie Brunelle, Paralegal

David Chien, Senior IT Administrator

Elizabeth Davis, Executive Assistant

William R. Dysart, Attorney

Eric Fanning, Health Care Advocate

Erika Gleason, Support Staff

Sandra Gluck, Communications/Web

Carol Hutcheon, Ombudsman

Carol Jenkins, Chief Financial Officer

Ariel Jurmain, Health Care Advocate

Trinka Kerr, Chief Health Care Advocate

David Koeninger, Deputy Director

Laurie Larson, Health Care Advocate

Jacqueline Majoros, State Ombudsman

Barbara Prine, Attorney

Jessica Radbord, Attorney

Jim Rohde, Systems Administrator

Amelia Schlossberg, Health Care Advocate

Rachel Seelig, Attorney

Julia Shaw, Health Policy Analyst

Marjorie Stinchcombe, Attorney

Leslie Thayer, HR Admin/Accounting

Emma Zavez, Health Care Advocate

Sara Zeno, Support Staff


Berry Carroll, Support Staff

Michelle Carter, Ombudsman

Chris Curtis, Attorney

Laura Gans, Attorney

Carolyn Jarrett, Attorney

Kaili Kuiper, Attorney

Jean Murray, Attorney

Sandy Paritz, PLP Director

Grace Pazdan, Attorney

Lila Richardson, Attorney

Montpelier-Mental Health Law Project

Rachael Lorimer, Office Manager

Jack McCullough, Director

Rebecca Plummer, Attorney

Gail Sophrin, Attorney


Nancy Breiden, DLP Director

Jane Callahan, Paralegal

Julie Carp, Attorney

Sean Londergan, Attorney

Jane Munroe, Ombudsman

Maureen O'Reilly, Attorney

Jennifer Philo, Support Staff


Jeanine Farnsworth, Secretary 

Nancy Hood, Ombudsman

Sara Kagle, Attorney

Leslie Kreek, Paralegal

Jeannette Lachapelle, Support Staff

Brigid Lynch, Attorney

Marilyn Mahusky, Attorney

Christine Speidel, Attorney

Jacob Speidel, Attorney

Charlene Wakefield, Accounts Analyst

St. Johnsbury

Stephanie Berube, Support Staff

Maryellen Griffin, Attorney

Alice Harter, Ombudsman

Sara Williams, Paralegal